About APEX

Author’s Guide for Submission to APEX [PDF]

Letter Journal with Impact

Applied Physics Express (APEX) is a letter journal devoted solely to rapid dissemination of up-to-date and concise reports on new findings in applied physics. This is published daily online and monthly for the printed version.

APEX is the successor to the Japanese Journal of Applied Physics (JJAP) letter section, JJAP Part 2, and not only has inherited the world-wide recognition of JJAP Part 2 (Letters and Express Letters), but also further promotes its strength in high scientific quality and prompt publication. In the journal policy, special emphasis is placed on high scientific and/or technological impact of its published papers.

APEX is a sister journal of JJAP and is published by the Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP).

High-Quality Publications in Faster Procedure

The motto of APEX is high scientific quality and prompt publication. Papers for APEX will be published online within 2 weeks, in the fastest case, from receipt to online publication. The motto is further strengthened by introducing a new editorial team dedicated to APEX.

to top

Editorial Board

Chief Executive Editor

  • Yukari Matsuo (Hosei University)

Executive Editors

  • Takashi Kondo (University of Tokyo)
  • Kazuo Tsutsui (Tokyo Institute of Technology)


  • Tadashi Shibata (Japan Society of Applied Physics)

International Advisors

  • Gerhard Abstreiter (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
  • Connie Chang-Hasnain (University of California, Berkeley, U.S.A.)
  • Richard Friend (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Hideo Hosono (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

Overseas Editors

  • Yi Luo (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Seong-Ju Park (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
  • Dimitris Pavlidis (Boston University, U.S.A.)
  • James S. Speck (University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A.)


  • Seiji Akita (Osaka Prefecture University)
  • Yoshihisa Aizu (Muroran Institute of Technology)
  • Masahiro Asada (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Tanemasa Asano (Kyushu University)
  • Yoshihisa Fujisaki (Hitachi)
  • Hironori Fujisawa (University of Hyogo)
  • Mitsuru Funato (Kyoto University)
  • Akihiro Hashimoto (University of Fukui)
  • Hiroki Hibino (NTT)
  • Susumu Horita (JAIST)
  • Musubu Ichikawa (Shinshu University)
  • Takashi Iijima (AIST)
  • Toshiro Itani (EIDEC)
  • Takashi Itoh (Gifu University)
  • Satoshi Kamiyama (Meijo University)
  • Futao Kaneko (Niigata University)
  • Makoto Kasu (Saga University)
  • Akihiko Kikuchi (Sophia University)
  • Keizo Kinoshita (Tohoku University)
  • Masatoshi Kitamura (Kobe University)
  • Masao Kuriki (Hiroshima University)
  • Masaaki Kuzuhara (University of Fukui)
  • Takashi Matsuoka (Tohoku University)
  • Tatsuo Mori (Aichi Institute of Technology)
  • Junichi Motohisa (Hokkaido University)
  • Jun Nakamura (University of Electro-Communications)
  • Junji Nishii (Hokkaido University)
  • Masanori Okuyama (Osaka University)
  • Takashige Omatsu (Chiba University)
  • Kouichi Ono (Kyoto University)
  • Teruo Ono (Kyoto University)
  • Masanori Ozaki (Osaka University)
  • Norihiko Sekine (NICT)
  • Toshi-kazu Suzuki (JAIST)
  • Shinichi Takagi (University of Tokyo)
  • Mitsuru Takenaka (University of Tokyo)
  • Ichiro Tsukada (CRIEPI)
  • Kenji Ueda (Nagoya University)
  • Osamu Wada (Kobe University)
  • Hitoshi Wakabayashi (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Ichiro Yamashita (NAIST)
  • Hideki Yokoi (Shibaura Institute of Technology)
  • Hiroo Yonezu (Toyohashi University of Technology)
  • Shinji Yuasa (AIST)
to top