Appl. Phys. Express 2 (2009) 025005 (3 pages)  |Previous Article| |Next Article|  |Table of Contents|
|Full Text PDF (1033K)| |Buy This Article|

Ink-Jet Printing of Carbon Nanotube Thin-Film Transistors on Flexible Plastic Substrates

Taishi Takenobu, Noriko Miura1, Sheng-Yi Lu2, Haruya Okimoto, Takeshi Asano1, Masashi Shiraishi3, and Yoshihiro Iwasa

Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Sendai 980-8577, Japan
1Brother Industries, Ltd., Nagoya 467-8561, Japan
2Department of Materials Science and Engineering, National Tsing-Hua University, Hsinchu 300, Taiwan
3Graduate School of Engineering Science, Osaka University, Toyonaka, Osaka 560-8531, Japan

(Received December 15, 2008; accepted January 15, 2009; published online February 6, 2009)

Ink-jet printable thin-film transistors (TFTs) on flexible plastic substrates are an important focus of research because present silicon-based electronics cannot realize such devices. In the present study, we fabricated single-walled carbon nanotube (SWCNT) TFTs on plastic substrates using the ink-jet printing method, and realized high-on/off current ratio (∼104) and flexibility, respectively. The present study therefore represents a major step towards “flexible SWCNT electronics”. ©2009 The Japan Society of Applied Physics

DOI: 10.1143/APEX.2.025005
PACS: 88.30.rh, 61.46.Np, 81.15.-z

|Full Text PDF (1033K)| |Buy This Article| Citation:

References | Citing Articles (37)

  1. P. Avouris, Z. H. Chen, and V. Perebeinos: Nat. Nanotechnol. 2 (2007) 605.
  2. T. Durkop, S. A. Getty, E. Cobas, and M. S. Fufrer: Nano Lett. 4 (2004) 35[CrossRef].
  3. E. S. Snow, J. P. Novak, D. Park, and P. M. Campbell: Appl. Phys. Lett. 82 (2003) 2145[AIP Scitation].
  4. K. Bradley, J. C. P. Gabriel, and G. Gruner: Nano Lett. 3 (2003) 1353[CrossRef].
  5. Y. X. Zhou, A. Gaur, S. H. Hur, C. Kocabas, M. A. Meitl, M. Shim, and J. A. Rogers: Nano Lett. 4 (2004) 2031[CrossRef].
  6. R. Seidel, A. P. Graham, E. Unger, G. S. Duesberg, M. Liebau, W. Steinhoegl, F. Kreupl, and W. Hoenlein: Nano Lett. 4 (2004) 831[CrossRef].
  7. S. J. Kang, C. Kocabas, T. Ozel, M. Shim, N. Pimparkar, M. A. Alam, S. V. Rotkin, and J. A. Rogers: Nat. Nanotechnol. 2 (2007) 230.
  8. Q. Cao, H. S. Kim, N. Pimparkar, J. P. Kulkarni, C. Wang, M. Shim, K. Roy, M. A. Alam, and J. A. Rogers: Nature 454 (2008) 495[CrossRef].
  9. M. Shiraishi, T. Takenobu, T. Iwai, Y. Iwasa, H. Kataura, and M. Ata: Chem. Phys. Lett. 394 (2004) 110[CrossRef].
  10. E. S. Snow, P. M. Campbell, M. G. Ancona, and J. P. Novak: Appl. Phys. Lett. 86 (2005) 033105[AIP Scitation].
  11. T. Fukao, S. Nakamura, H. Kataura, and M. Shiraishi: Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. 45 (2006) 6524[JSAP].
  12. H. E. Unalan, G. Fanchini, A. Kanwal, A. D. Pasquier, and M. Chhowalla: Nano Lett. 6 (2006) 677[CrossRef].
  13. T. Takenobu, T. Takahashi, T. Kanbara, K. Tsukagoshi, Y. Aoyagi, and Y. Iwasa: Appl. Phys. Lett. 88 (2006) 033511[AIP Scitation].
  14. N. Chimot, V. Derycke, M. F. Goffman, J. P. Bourgoin, H. Happy, and G. Dambrine: Appl. Phys. Lett. 91 (2007) 153111[AIP Scitation].
  15. C. W. Lee, C. H. Weng, L. Wei, Y. Chen, M. B. Chan-Park, C. H. Tsai, K. C. Leou, C. H. P. Poa, J. L. Wang, and L. J. Li: J. Phys. Chem. C 112 (2008) 12089[CrossRef].
  16. M. C. LeMieux, M. Roberts, S. Barman, Y. W. Jin, J. M. Kim, and Z. Bao: Science 321 (2008) 101.
  17. P. Beecher, P. Servati, A. Rozhin, A. Colli, V. Scardaci, S. Pisana, T. Hasan, A. J. Flewitt, F. M. Li, A. Nathan, A. C. Ferrari, and W. I. Milne: J. Appl. Phys. 102 (2007) 043710[AIP Scitation].
  18. P. C. Collins, M. S. Arnold, and Ph. Avouris: Science 292 (2001) 706[Science].
  19. C. W. Sele, T. von Werne, R. H. Friend, and H. Sirringhaus: Adv. Mater. 17 (2005) 997[CrossRef].
  20. M. S. Arnold, A. A. Green, J. F. Hulvat, S. I. Stupp, and M. C. Hersam: Nat. Nanotechnol. 1 (2006) 60.
  21. K. Yanagi, Y. Miyata, and H. Kataura: Appl. Phys. Express 1 (2008) 34003[JSAP].
  22. H. Okimoto, T. Takenobu, K. Yanagi, Y. Miyata, H. Kataura, T. Asano, and Y. Iwasa: in preparation for publication.
  23. T. Takenobu, T. Takano, M. Shiraishi, Y. Murakami, M. Ata, H. Kataura, Y. Achiba, and Y. Iwasa: Nat. Mater. 2 (2003) 683[CrossRef].
  24. T. Takenobu, T. Kanbara, N. Akima, T. Takahashi, M. Shiraishi, K. Tsukagoshi, H. Kataura, Y. Aoyagi, and Y. Iwasa: Adv. Mater. 17 (2005) 2430[CrossRef].
  25. W. Kim, A. Javey, O. Vermesh, O. Wang, Y. M. Li, and H. J. Dai: Nano Lett. 3 (2003) 193[CrossRef].
  26. T. Tsukagoshi, M. Sekiguchi, Y. Aoyagi, T. Kanbara, T. Takenobu, and Y. Iwasa: Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. 46 (2007) L571[JSAP].

|TOP|  |Previous Article| |Next Article|  |Table of Contents| |APEX Home|
Copyright © 2013 The Japan Society of Applied Physics
Contact Information